Entries tagged [board]

Thursday Oct 21, 2010

Statement by the ASF Board on recent Java-related events

As reported recently in the news and elsewhere, there are two issues currently facing the Foundation that merit a response from the ASF. 

At the last JCP Executive Committee meeting in Bonn, Germany, Oracle announced that it will not offer a TCK license for Java SE (for the Apache Harmony project) without the so-called "Field of Use" (FOU) restriction.  We believe that this is a final decision from Oracle and that there are no further opportunities for productive discussion on this topic. 

To that end, the Apache Harmony project is evaluating its project goals and future, as Oracle's decision blocks Harmony from achieving the original community goal of a TCK-tested, spec-compliant, Apache-licensed implementation of Java SE.  The ASF fully supports the Apache Harmony community as it moves forward, past this regretful decision on the part of Oracle.  With respect to the many other projects in the ASF that implement JSRs, we remain committed to those projects as they are, and any new projects that wish to implement JSRs that have appropriate TCK licensing terms.

Related to Oracle's announcement, the IBM Corporation made a decision to reduce its level of contribution to the Apache Harmony project and there has been speculation regarding what the ASF might do as a result.  Apache projects are intentionally structured around a diverse set of contributors in order to limit the effect of the loss of a contributor, no matter how prominent.  The remaining contributors to the Apache Harmony project - including IBM employees that choose to participate on their own time - will continue with the project.  We thank IBM Corporation for their contributions to Apache Harmony, and wish them well in their future endeavors in open source Java.

# # #

Saturday Sep 11, 2010

Announcing The New ASF Executive Officers

At the Apache Software Foundation Board Meeting held this morning, the following members were elected to serve as the new Executive Officers of the ASF effective immediately:

- Doug Cutting, Chairman
- Jim Jagielski, President
- Greg Stein, Vice Chairman
- Noirin Shirley, Executive Vice President
- Geir Magnusson, Jr., Treasurer
- Craig Russell, Secretary
- Sam Ruby, Assistant Secretary

For more information on the Foundation's operations and its structure, see http://apache.org/foundation/how-it-works.html#structure

Thursday Jul 15, 2010

The Apache Software Foundation Announces New Board Members

The Apache Software Foundation (ASF) is pleased to announce that Shane Curcuru, Doug Cutting, Bertrand Delacretaz, Roy T. Fielding, Jim Jagielski, Sam Ruby, Noirin Shirley, Greg Stein, and Henri Yandell have been elected to serve on the ASF Board of Directors.

For more information on the ASF structure, visit http://apache.org/foundation/how-it-works.html#structure

# # # 



Hot Blogs (today's hits)

Tag Cloud